Please visit the links and support my friends and supporters!!!

Please visit the links and support my friends and supporters!!!

Wednesday, March 13, 2013

League Award Winners - Lough wins, James McDonald/Jamie Amos interview, WEAR WHITE

Here's the full list of the 2013 BCHL Award winners. Congrats to all the winners, and congrats to Bulldogs Captain Ryan Lough especially on winning the Coastal Bob Fenton Memorial Trophy. He's proof you can be a great player, a great leader AND that you can do it with class.

The British Columbia Hockey League is pleased to announce its award winners for the 2012-13 season.

The winners were chosen after a survey of BCHL coaches.

Players from nine teams received major league awards this season. 

Langley's Mario Puskarich is the first Coastal Conference player to win the scoring title since 2009 when D'Arcy Oakes won it with the Powell River Kings.

Puskarich's 16-point margin over runner up Austin Plevy of Chilliwack is the largest since 2006 when Merritt's Brandon Wong won the Brett Hull Trophy with a 116-point season, 15 points better than Chilliwack's Matt Butcher.

BCHL Award Winners:
Vern Dye Memorial Trophy – Most Valuable Player
Interior Conference: Brent Baltus, Trail Smoke Eaters
Coastal Conference: Mitch Gillam, Chilliwack Chiefs
Bruce Allison Memorial Trophy – Rookie of the Year
Interior Conference: Ryan Gropp, Penticton Vees
Coastal Conference: Luke Esposito, Chilliwack Chiefs
Best Defenceman Award
Interior Conference: Troy Stecher, Penticton Vees
Coastal Conference: Devon Toews, Surrey Eagles
Bob Fenton Trophy – Most Sportsmanlike Player
Interior Conference: Brandon Mistal, Salmon Arm SilverBacks
Coastal Conference: Ryan Lough, Alberni Valley Bulldogs
Joe Tennant Memorial Trophy – Coach of the Year
Interior Conference: Luke Pierce, Merritt Centennials
Coastal Conference: Bill Bestwick, Victoria Grizzlies
Non-voting awards
Brett Hull Trophy – BCHL Top Scorer
Mario Puskarich, Langley Rivermen (41 goals, 48 assists for 89 points)
Goaltending Award (Lowest goals-against average of goalies with 1,000+ minutes played)
Michael Santaguida, Surrey Eagles (2.28 GAA, 2,582 minutes played)
Wally Forslund Award – Top Goaltending Tandem (best combined goals-against average)
Chad Katunar and Nic Renyard, Penticton Vees (2.33 GAA)

I have received countless requests for this one since Friday and Saturday, not to mention tonnes of positive feedback along with the requests to post the interview again here on the blog.

Click to listen to the James McDonald/Jamie Amos interview HERE

As always, all Audio is courtesy and copyright 93.3 The Peak FM and the Jim Pattison Broadcast Group, LP.

It is a HUGE FILE, so please be patient when downloading it.

Speaking of downloading - While I'm offering up this audio and doing all this blog work lately, it's a great time to say THANKS to all the blog sponsors, and all those parents of Bulldog players and die-hard Bulldog fans that donate to this blog (shameless plug - the donate link is up there over there ----->) to make it all go, and all worth my while. I have been through several audio hosting companies already as I have "filled up" my quota of storage space, it's nice to get some support besides my own pocket when I am looking for other options!

Here's your heads up for what you need to know for Friday/Saturday and Monday!


No comments: