Please visit the links and support my friends and supporters!!!

Please visit the links and support my friends and supporters!!!

Wednesday, January 07, 2015

60th Totem Tournament tips off tonight, Casey Bailey up for Hobey Baker...

The longest running High School Basketball tournament in BC goes tonight, tomorrow and Saturday at ADSS and the Alberni Athetic Hall as the Totem Tournament celebrates it's 60th Anniversary.

The Armada Girls take on Highland at 6:00pm tonight, with the Armada Boys facing Stelly's at 7:45 with both games going at ADSS. 

Action continues through tomorrow and Saturday at ADSS and the Alberni Athletic Hall with 8 Boys and 8 Girls teams taking part. Tickets can be purchased at the door, with all funds going to tournament fees and the Armada Basketball program.

Pretty cool stuff here, as former Bulldog Casey Bailey has been nominated for the Hobey Baker Award - read below for more details, and vote for "Bails!"



There is again a strong BCHL flavour to the annual start of the Hobey Baker Award considerations.

Given each season to the player judged to be the best in NCAA hockey, the Hobey Baker Award consideration begins each year with a 'long list' which fans can vote on. From that a 'short list' and then three finalists will be selected. The winner is announced at the NCAA Frozen Four, which will be April 9 to 11 in Boston.

The 'long list' released Jan. 7 includes 13 BCHL alumni representing 11 BCHL clubs. In all, 59 U.S. college players are up for the award. 

The BCHLers are:
Max French, Bentley (West Kelowna Warriors alum)
Matt Garbowsky, RIT (Powell River Kings alum)
Bryce Gervais, Minnesota State (Salmon Arm/Penticton alum)
Mitch Gillam, Cornell (Chilliwack Chiefs alum)
Matt Ginn, Holy Cross (Victoria Grizzlies alum)
Andrew Gladiuk, Bentley (Nanaimo Clippers alum)
Joey Laleggia, Denver (Penticton Vees alum)
Alexander MacMillan, AIC (Merritt Centennials alum)
Tyler Morley, Alaska-Fairbanks (Surrey Eagles alum)
Mario Puskarich, Vermont (Langley Rivermen alum)
Mike Reilly, Minnesota (Penticton Vees alum)
Jamie Phillips, Michigan Tech (Powell River Kings alum)
Casey Bailey, Penn State (Alberni Valley Bulldogs alum)

Fans can vote for their favourite players once per day at

Last year's Hobey Baker Award Winner was Johnny Gaudreau, now an NHLer and Calder Trophy hopeful for the Calgary Flames.
Past BCHL alums to win the Hobey Baker Award are Ryan Duncan (2007), Jason Krog (1999), Brendan Morrison (1997) and Paul Kariya (1993).

No comments: